Prodip Sen

Dr. Prodip Sen is currently Chief Technology Strategist for HPE Pointnext, where he is responsible for technology strategy and industry engagement. Prior to this he was the Chief Technologist for Network Functions Virtualization (NFV) in HPE’s Communications Solutions Business (CSB).

Dr. Sen is part of the core group of individuals who were instrumental in creating the NFV industry movement, to energize the industry and push its boundaries. He served as the first Chair of the ETSI Industry Specification Group on Network Functions Virtualization (ETSI NFV ISG) from January 2013 to July 2014. He is a former board member of the Open Networking Foundation (ONF).

Dr. Sen and his industry colleagues subsequently created an open source activity hosted under the Linux Foundation to help accelerate the implementation of software and platforms for NFV – Open Platform for NFV (OPNFV). This project leverages existing open source projects to create a reference platform for NFV. Dr. Sen was the Chair of the Board of Directors for OPNFV from its inception in 2014 through 2017, after which OPNFV merged with other networking projects to form the Linux Foundation Networking Fund at the end of 2017.

Before joining HPE, Dr. Sen was at Verizon, where he responsible for assessment of new technologies and architectures, definition of the target architecture and network evolution strategy. Prior activities covered a variety of architecture, design and system engineering activities, in support of data and multimedia services.

Earlier, while at Polytechnic University in Brooklyn, NY (now NYU Poly) and at the University of California, Los Angeles, Dr. Sen has conducted research in computer communication networks, network management, decision theory, system theory and control theory. He has taught courses in communication networks, digital communications, signal processing, and control theory.

Dr. Sen is a Life Member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers. He holds a Ph.D. in Electrical Communication Engineering from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India.


Back to previous page